[EVENT | May 7] We Own the Future: A Virtual Discussion

[EVENT | May 7] We Own the Future: A Virtual Discussion

Join Kate Aronoff, Sarah Leonard, and Bill Fletcher Jr. for a discussion on the new book We Own the Future: Democratic Socialism—American Style.

A Virtual Discussion with Kate Aronoff, Sarah Leonard, and Bill Fletcher Jr.
Thursday, May 7, 8:00PM ET / 7PM CT / 6PM MT / 5PM PT

Please register here. Registration is free and open to the public.

Dissent is partnering with the New Press, Democratic Socialists of America, and the DSA Fund to bring you a virtual discussion on the new book We Own the Future: Democratic Socialism—American Style, edited by Kate Aronoff, Peter Dreier, and Michael Kazin.

Amid an unprecedented pandemic and the failure of the capitalist system to address it adequately and equitably, we must chart a new course. In We Own the Future: Democratic Socialism—American Style, leading socialist thinkers and activists come together to examine the democratic socialist history of the United States and how we might achieve a world where every human being is guaranteed a life of safety, health, dignity, and even joy, free from the commodification of basic necessities. The chapters of this timely and urgent volume tackle climate change, foreign policy, gender and the family, healthcare, election reform, socialist governance, and more.

You can buy a copy of We Own the Future from Dissent‘s online store here.


Kate Aronoff is a staff writer at The New Republic. Her writing has appeared in Dissent, The Guardian, The Nation, Jacobin, and the New York Times. She is a co-editor of We Own the Future: Democratic Socialism—American Style (The New Press), and a co-host of Dissent‘s Hot & Bothered podcast.

Sarah Leonard is a contributing editor to The Nation and an editor-at-large at Dissent. 

Bill Fletcher Jr. has been a senior staff person in the national AFL-CIO; the former president of TransAfrica Forum; a Senior Scholar with the Institute for Policy Studies; an editorial board member of BlackCommentator.com; and in the leadership of several other projects. Fletcher is the co-author (with Peter Agard) of The Indispensable Ally: Black Workers and the Formation of the Congress of Industrial Organizations, 1934-1941; the co-author (with Dr. Fernando Gapasin) of Solidarity Divided: The crisis in organized labor and a new path toward social justice; and the author of ‘They’re Bankrupting Us’ – And Twenty Other Myths about Unions. He is also a contributor to Dissent.


Lima