Celebrate Dissent at 70

Celebrate Dissent at 70

Join Dissent on October 25 to celebrate 70 years of our remarkable magazine.

Date: Wednesday, October 25, 2023
Time: 6–8 p.m.
Place: 555 New Jersey Ave., NW Washington, D.C.
(AFT Building)
Host: Randi Weingarten, AFT President

Join Dissent to celebrate 70 years of this remarkable magazine that continues to provoke, challenge, and inspire with the best writing on the democratic left.

Help ensure a future where unpopular ideas prevail. Buy a ticket and bring a friend. Proceeds from this event will support Dissent’s Editorial Fund and the Fund for Emerging Writers.

Enjoy food, drinks, live (unionized) music, and camaraderie. Speakers include Randi Weingarten, Sara Nelson, Tressie McMillan Cottom, Rep. Jamie Raskin, Michael Walzer, Randall Kennedy, and others soon to be announced.

Ticket levels
Because this is a fundraiser, we ask you to be as generous as you can with your ticket purchases.

Patron – $1,000+
Includes a complimentary one-year print & digital subscription to Dissent, our special 70th anniversary tote bag, and a food tour of NYC with our newest columnist, Arun Gupta.

Ally – $500+
Includes a complimentary subscription to Dissent, the anniversary tote bag, and a copy of The Light at the End of the World, Siddhartha Deb’s new novel hailed by the New York Times as “extraordinary.”

Friend – $250+
Includes a complimentary one-year print & digital subscription to Dissent, and our 70th anniversary tote bag.

Advocate – $100+

Students – $25 (limited number – includes a free digital subscription to Dissent). Please register with an .edu email address.

Can’t join us in person? Please consider making a gift, and you’ll be there in spirit.

Institutional Sponsors

Fellow institutions are invited to become sponsors. All sponsors receive four tickets to the event plus a free advertisement in the winter issue of Dissent (out January 8, 2024).
$2,500 – a full-page ad in our winter issue and on our website.
$1,500 – a half-page ad in the winter issue of Dissent.
Questions? Please contact Caroline Cleaves at cleaves@dissentmagazine.org.

Host Committee

Randi Weingarten
Michael Walzer
Rich Yeselson
Timothy Shenk
Matthew Sitman
Miles Rapoport
Aziz Rana
Jedediah Britton-Purdy
Maxine Phillips
Julia Ott
Jo-Ann Mort
Nicolaus Mills
Harold Meyerson
Deborah Meier
David Marcus
Susie Linfield
Natasha Lewis
Mark Levinson
Sarah Leonard
Joshua Leifer
Jonathan Lee
Robert Kuttner
William Kornblum
Randall Kennedy
Michael Kazin
Sarah Jones
Richard Healey
Adom Getachew
Siddhartha Deb
Mitchell Cohen
Marcia Chatelain
Leo Casey
Jules Bernstein
Paul Berman
Alyssa Battistoni
Tim Barker
Atossa Araxia Abrahamian